One Week In…

It is kind of crazy that I’ve been in Costa Rica for a week already.  It seems both longer than that and shorter at the same time.

Due to some illness and injury upon arriving, I haven’t been able to get as familiar with my new home as I would like. Yet. 

But it has still been a great week! 

I arrived safely to the country on May 12…travel all went real easy, and immigration/customs upon arriving was a breeze. I’ve been hearing stories of others in the group that have had to wait hours in line, but thankfully, I was able to just walk right up to an agent.  I was picked up by a staff member from the school with another new student, and the other students were all there to greet us when we arrived at the campus about an hour later.  

Friday, morning we had an orientation meeting, just giving us some of the basics of the school.  In the afternoon, we had a chance to see San Jose a bit.  A couple of the other single ladies took me to the ATM, the store and out for coffee at one of their favorite places.  And then we had the weekend to try and settle in.

Right now there are only about 15 students at the school.  About half are starting their second term, while I am starting my first.  
The first week of each term always focuses on church planting and missions before getting into those Spanish classes.  Not sure if this is supposed to be easing us in or not. 🙂  But this week we had full days listening to the stories, experience and advice of various church planters and missionaries that are already active in Latin America.  

It’s been interesting to hear their stories, but also just a lot of (great) information to take in all at once.  We had a chance to fellowship all together at lunch today…one of the guys decided to grill for the whole group…so we were able to hang out and enjoy getting to know each other a little bit more.

Below are some pictures from the week.  As you can see, it’s rainy season in San Jose right now, so it rains every afternoon at least.  Today, it was raining most of the day, but I’m sure that keeps things a bit cooler too, so I’m not going to complain. 🙂  

Thank you again for all your prayers and support!  It is so exciting to finally be taking these steps on my way to Bolivia.  I’m hoping my high school Spanish knowledge is going to come back real quick once I get into class on Monday.

But I really can’t express how grateful I am to each of you for helping me get here.

THANK YOU!

Author: Beth Ann

Called To Serve - Missionary Associate to the Children of Cochabamba, Bolivia

Leave a comment